Pumpkin scones

I feel like I’ve been a slacker on my pumpkin quest. I had such high hopes, and I promised y’all the world but have been so busy that the days have ticked by sadly pumpkin free. So let’s get back on track! Kicking it back off with these tasty scones.

032

What you’ll need:

4 1/2 cups flour

1/2 cup brown sugar

4 tsp baking powder

3 tsp pumpkin pie spice

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup cold butter

2 eggs

1 1/4 cups canned pumpkin

1/2 cup milk

 

 

Before you start, you might want to preheat your oven to 400, so it’s ready when you are.

034

Put all the dry stuff in a mixing bowl. Naturally I used the kitchenaid.

035

Cut the butter into pats and add it to the flour mix.

036

No, my kitchenaid isn’t a ghost, but covering it with a towel or something is highly suggested when you’re about to kick up a bunch of flour. This little trick is super handy when making icing that requires a lot of powdered sugar. Unless you want everything around your mixer to have a light dusting of sugar.

037

Use the paddle attachment and hit it in spurts to get that crumb texture. Whoa now, you’re supposed to use a pastry cutter or two forks! I use to believe that too. I just made vanilla scones not too long ago and I labored annoyingly cutting up the butter into the flour with forks. Guess what, the paddle works just fine. You might have to cut it up a little bit by hand, but let the machine do all the heavy lifting.

038

In a little separate bowl, whisk together the eggs, pumpkin puree, and milk. Should only take a second. Then pour it in and mix a little bit.

039

Use the paddle until it’s just combined enough, then switch to the dough hook. Start that sucker up and go till it starts to look like dough. No, I didn’t time it, deal with it.

040

You’ll know it when you see it. It’s a little stickier than normal scone dough. I think that has to do with pumpkin puree in it. So you’re going to want to flour the crap out of your work surface and the dough so it doesn’t stick to the rolling pin. Only pull out half the dough at a time. It’s a lot to work with all at once, so half is more than enough.

041

Roll it out into a square or rectangle and cut into little triangles. You could also roll it into a circle and cut it like a pizza, but rolling out a circle shape isn’t as easy. Trust me, I rarely turn out a perfect circle when I make tortillas. I used a pizza roller instead of a dough blade cause it was easier. I started by making squares and then cut them in half for little triangles. Don’t sweat it if they don’t look perfect. They’re homemade, gives them character.

042

I filled up both trays and still had more left over!

043

Those guys will have to wait. Since I had to use two trays, I did 7 minutes then rotated and went 7 more minutes.

044

Since they’re so orange it’s hard to tell that they’re “golden brown” like all those recipes give as the tell tale done sign.

045

Of course they wouldn’t be nearly as good without a sweet glaze!

What you’ll need:

2 cups powdered sugar.. SIFT IT. Sure, it’s a pain, but it helps the icing turn out smooth.

1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice

4 TBSP milk

 

Why is there cinnamon in the picture? I thought I would use it, but I didn’t need it. Was I going to retake a picture? No.

052

Whisk it up. If you want it thinner, add more milk, thicker add more powdered sugar. I used a pastry brush to do a thin coat. You’re fingers are going to get sticky, there’s no way around it. After that round there was more than enough to pour another bit on top of all of them.

053 054

They’re not the same texture as regular scones. Could be the pumpkin, who knows. They’re still super tasty! I think these reignited my passion for pumpkin. I want to make something else!!

 

Leave a Reply

