Pumpkin jar bread mix

I really felt like baking something last night. It’s my go-to activity when I’m stressed. First, I wanted to make pumpkin whoopie pies with cream cheese frosting filling. Turned out I only had one egg. I mean, one egg. What can you bake with just one egg? Have you ever noticed everything calls for at least two eggs? I was about to give up, when I remembered I had a few jar mixes in the pantry. See, I told you those things would come in handy in a pinch. I had three mixes, and all of them only took one egg! I figured if I did the pumpkin it would be a post, let me baking something, and give me a tasty breakfast the next few days. Perfect!

008 (4)

What you’ll need:

3 cups Bisquick… I’m a big fan of the giant Sam’s Club box of Bisquick, we make a lot of waffles.

1 cup sugar

1 tsp pumpkin pie spice… I don’t know about you, but by this point I’m wishing there was an economy size.

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/2 tsp cloves

009 (4)

Start with the Bisquick. It fills a good bit of the jar, so it’s very important to tamp it down. I just bounce it on the heel of my palm for a minute.

010 (4)

See what a difference that makes?

011 (4) 012 (2)

Add the spices. I spread them around so there was a little of that brown color against the glass. This isn’t a particularly pretty jar mix, but the little line is a nice touch if you plan on giving these as gifts.

013 (2)

Use a jar funnel for the sugar, because this happens. It’s doesn’t all fit! Yes, it does. Tap the jar to let the sugar settle, then lift the funnel a little, and repeat a few times. Remember, there’s a good bit of space around the funnel too, and you don’t need any head space.

014 (3)

See, it totally fits.

TAG:

1 can (16 oz) pumpkin puree… it’s 2 cups, for those of you who also believe there’s no such thing as too much pumpkin and always buy the biggest can available. I’m on my 4th can.

1 egg

Mix everything together until just combined. Pour in prepared 9×5 pan.

Bake for 1 hour at 350.

So, fast forward a week or so when you’re hankering for something tasty, pumpkin, and easy. You’re at that lazy threshold of wanting to bake, but not wanting the effort of dragging everything out of the pantry to do so. Enter the already work done pumpkin bread mix in a jar. Huzzah!

001

Start preheating the oven now, cause this isn’t going to take very long.

002

AWESOME TIP ALERT: Probably the best thing I ever learned off a Food Network daytime cooking show was this little move right here… the bread sling. Have you ever made a quick bread only to have it not want to come out of the pan and you end up having a bread massacre trying to get it out? It’s a sad, sad thing. I promise you, do this and you’ll never have that problem again. Cut yourself a piece of parchment paper that will fit the long width of the pan. Spray the pan, then lay the paper in and spray again.

003

It’s 100% worth the extra bit of time. You’ll thank me when you take the bread out.

004

Mix it all till just combined to keep it from getting too dense. It’s going to be kinda thick, but that makes sense considering the dry to liquid ratio.

005

I’d say pour it into the pan, but it doesn’t really pour. So just manhandle it with a spatula into the pan and spread it all out.

006

I pulled it out maybe 5 minutes shy of the 1 hour. I poked it anyway, even though it looked perfect. I rarely go the full bake time suggested, but this was fantastic.

007

After a couple minutes, lift it out with ease using the fantastical sling, and put it on a cooling rack. Look at how pretty that is! I told you the sling is the best.

008

It’s moist and thick but not dense. One piece is pretty filling. Very hefty and pumpkiny. I zapped a piece in the microwave for breakfast this morning. It was delicious. So you can sit there, all drooly and jealous, or you can make your own!

Leave a Reply

