Pumpkin ice cream

I forget when it was I got this little ice cream maker. One day I suddenly became inspired to make various flavors and mixes. My kids loooove them some ice cream, so I knew it would go to good use. Well it got buried in the Mary Poppins cabinet of small appliances. So aside from a couple batches of orange sorbet when I first got it, the little wonder hasn’t seen the light of day. Until now. I was contemplating pumpkin related ideas for days and new ones were popping up all the time. One of those light bulb moments was a pumpkin ice cream. At first I wasn’t sure, but even if it was bad I wanted to try. Well good news, folks… it was an awesome success! Think frozen, creamy, pumpkin pie. I’m not even kidding. I had two other taste testers confirm this conclusion.

017

 

What you’ll need:

2 cups heavy whipping cream… if you get the tall container you can use the rest to make whipped cream!

1 1/2 cups canned pumpkin

1 cup packed brown sugar

1 tsp ground ginger

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 tsp salt

1/8 tsp ground cloves

021 My Hamilton 1.5 qt ice cream maker. Cute, not a giant bucket, automatic, and makes enough but not too much.

SPECIAL EQUIPMENT ALERT: You do need an ice cream maker for this recipe. I’m sure you could find some recipes that don’t require a machine, but this is not one of them. Besides, I think this is a staple little appliance for having small children. Think about how much money we’ll save not buying ice cream!

018

I just tossed everything in the Kitchenaid mixer and let it go for a little bit. Just go on low and keep an eye out for it to combine. Doesn’t take very long.

019

I stuck it in the fridge cause I wasn’t ready to process it yet. The ice cream bucket for my machine has to be in the freezer over night before doing anything. There’s water in there and when the paddle turns it freezes. It’s pretty darn cool. Also, sticking the mixture in the fridge will give it a head start since it might have warmed to room temp while you were mixing it.

020

My machine is 1.5 qts and held this whole recipe. So dump it in, attach the paddle, snap on the lid, and start her up!

028

So it’s churning and churning and churning and I was starting to get nervous. This happened every time I’ve used this thing. There’s no timer, no ready light, just waiting and listening. This machine is pretty nifty, and not as loud as I thought it would be. For mine, the paddle will start to get stuck and that’s when it’s done. Makes sense. It’s too thick and awesome to churn anymore.

030

Took the lid off and the paddle was still stuck. Must be a fantastic sign!

031

Looks like ice cream! It’s going to look like more of a soft serve, so you want to put it straight into a container and stick it in the freezer for at least an hour.

032

Oh, I almost forgot… homemade whipped cream. This will be a quick one. Take 1 cup heavy whipping cream and beat it on high till soft peaks start to form. Now, this part is very important… you MUST put the bowl and the whisk in the fridge to chill before doing this. That’s why a Kitchenaid is so awesome = metal bowl. So when those peaks form, add in 3-4 TBSP powdered sugar and 1 tsp vanilla. Whisk it in high for another few seconds till those soft peaks get stiff. There you have it! Or crack open a can of reddi-wip, I’m not judging.

037

Isn’t that just beautiful?! We had an official tasting and it was given rave reviews. I personal think it tastes like frozen pumpkin pie. This might just be my new favorite frozen treat.

Leave a Reply

