Desserts in a jar – part 1

I have a lot of cookbooks. Like the shelf is sagging and they’re crammed in there so tight I’m half afraid they might burst out when I walk by. I haven’t looked at some of them in awhile, but with trying to set up a freezer meal making party, I did some digging and found a little gem  tucked away. A whole book about gifts in a jar. Hey weren’t we doing a series on hats? I don’t have time to make a hat right now, cut me some slack.

To make up for your hardship of not getting a new hat, this post will be a twofer. Not one, but two super easy jar mixes that give you desserts at your fingertips! I’m really excited about this one. The idea of only having to grab one thing out of the pantry is magical. As opposed to balancing at least four tubs of whatever and then cramming them onto the small counter space next to the kitchenaid.

007

Let’s start with some fudge brownies!

What you’ll need:

1 qt wide mouth jar

jar funnel (optional but HIGHLY useful)

index card or some kind of tag to put the info on

yarn, twine, or ribbon… just something to tie it on

1 1/3 c sugar

2/3 c cocoa

2/3 c flour

1 tsp baking powder

2/3 c chocolate chips

2/3 c chopped pecans (optional)

 

Layer the ingredients in the order I put them. Pack them down a little after each layer. The easiest method is tapping the jar on the table, or your knee. That’s it!

008

Well maybe not totally done, you need to know what to do with this awesomeness in a jar. Knowing my luck, I would totally forget what this was, what else needed to go into it, and what book it came out of to find it again. I can barely remember what I had for breakfast. Holy crap did I eat breakfast?!

Anywho, punch a hole or two in an index card or a little piece of paper. Write the info you need to know, and tie it onto your jar so you don’t lose it. This is what you need to know for your tag…

“1 jar mix, 1 c softened butter, & 4 eggs. Preheat oven to 325. Cream butter, add eggs one at a time. Mix in dry ingredients. Spread into greased 8×8 pan. Bake 50 min.”

Want to make it a nifty gift? Cut a circle of fabric to go over the lid/under the ring, and tie the tag with ribbon for extra fanciness!

Okay, honesty time… the original recipe actually didn’t say what size pan to use. I was pretty shocked when I realized they just left me hangin’ like that. I assumed 8×8 cause that sounded right to me. That’s pretty normal for brownies.

009

You said this was a twofer! True enough, so here ya go.

Gave you a brownie, now time for a cookie. Everyone has a cookie or two that just make you feel like a kid again. Ones that your mom use to make. For me, one of those childhood favs is snickerdoodles. My mom makes some awesome snickerdoodles. This jar might not stay in the pantry very long.

What you’ll need:

1 qt wide mouth jar

funnel (slightly less optional)

card and something to tie

2 1/2 c flour

1/4 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

2 tsp cream of tartar

1 1/2 c sugar

 

Layer the ingredients like they’re listed. This one really needs to be tapped down. The flour takes up a lot of space, so take a little bit to tap it down. Then only add 1/2-1 cup of the sugar and tap it down to give yourself enough space for that last bit of sugar. It’ll fit, trust me.

Same deal with attaching the need to know, and here’s what you need to know:

“1 jar mix, 1 stick softened butter, 2 eggs, 1/2 c sugar + 1 TBSP cinnamon. Preheat oven to 375. Mix jar, butter, and eggs. Shape into 1″ balls and roll in cinnamon sugar mix. Bake for 10 min.”

011

How many cookies does this make? I have no idea! I haven’t actually tried this yet. Did you notice that this post has a little “part 1” on it? Can you guess what the second part will be? I intend on making these this week. So stay on the edge of your seats, or make them yourself!

By bakingmama22 Posted in Baking

One comment on “Desserts in a jar – part 1

  1. Pingback: Remember that snickerdoodle jar recipe? | Try to keep up

Leave a Reply

